Winter Weather Running

22 Dec

A little known fact is that I LOVE running in cold weather. I’m not sure why exactly, but something about the cold air is exhilarating, and makes me run a lot faster and have better form than in the summer time. It may be due to the humidity and heat, but summer running always makes me feel so slow and lethargic.

I think I owe a lot of credit for winter running to my little brother Ben. We’ve done a lot  of running together lately, and he has really pushed me to be a better runner. His running abilities are really impressive for his age. He’s 9 (!) and he’s run multiple 5ks, and placed in a few.

raced (not a great picture, I know)

The headband I wearing above is really cool too. I found it at Target for $10, and it does  a great job at staying on, which I usually have problems with. It keeps my ears nice and warm too!

My latest 5k was a Reindeer Run in Maryville, TN where I was visiting family. It was my fastest time yet, but it wasn’t pretty. The weather was surprisingly warm for December, and I was not prepared for that. I wore running pants, and thank goodness i wore a t-shirt, otherwise it would have been unbearable. After the race, I felt shaky and like I was having low blood sugar. It was pretty bad. The rest of the race was so organized, but the refreshments, and water afterward was extremely chaotic.

race (You can tell from the people in the background of this picture how warm it was)

I’m glad I live in a place where the winters are mild enough to be able to run!

Merry Christmas!

One Response to “Winter Weather Running”

  1. caloricandcrazy January 2, 2012 at 2:11 am #

    I want to try and run a 5k this year. It sounds and looks like so much fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

