Road trip to Asheville!

4 Sep

This morning started out with a simple smoothie made by my wonderful Magic Bullet:

  • frozen strawberries, mango, pineapple, and peaches
  • 1 scoop Vanilla protein powder
  • milk
  • Strawberry yogurt

Septemberfood 062

Asheville is only about an hour from where I live, so it makes a great day trip getaway! There aren’t really any health food stores near me, so when I want to get some of the healthy staples, I usually have to make a trip to a bigger area. I LOVE Asheville. The atmosphere, the vibe, the culture, the FOOD, everything.

For the trip I brought some almonds (these are DEFINITELY not my favorites. bleh) to snack on on the way. 

Septemberfood 063

It really is such a beautiful drive. I love to look at the mountains.

Septemberfood 082 Septemberfood 084

I found the cutest little restaurant online called Nine Mile, where we ate lunch. It was really neat inside, with a great hippie vibe.

Septemberfood 073

I ordered the Raz Roots Vegetarian Chili, and a raspberry naturally brewed soda on the side. It was SO delicious!

Septemberfood 071

The first stop on our grocery store tour was Earth Fare.

Septemberfood 074

The only thing I bought here was some nutritional yeast. Then we were off to Greenlife Grocery, which is owned by Whole Foods.

Greenlife Grocery 1 (Source)

Next stop was Target to get a couple other items. While we were there we ran into this. Seriously?!?

Septemberfood 076

Last Stop was to go into Downtown Asheville, and stop by a few of the more, ahem, alternative stores 🙂 The diversity in Asheville is probably my favorite part of the city. LOVE. We went into a frozen yogurt place and got a little treat before heading out.

Septemberfood 077 Septemberfood 078

I got the Strawberry flavor mixed with the Lychee yogurt. I topped it with some strawberries, kiwi, brownie bits, and Oreo crumbs. mmm!

It was a wonderful trip, and it was a great time spent with my family. Perfect getaway for this long weekend, and because of this:

Septemberfood 091I consider the trip a success! 🙂

One Response to “Road trip to Asheville!”

  1. caloricandcrazy October 7, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    Okay, that T-Pain microphone needs to leave the toy aisle immediately…haha.

    Your blog is so cute! Can’t wait to read more 🙂

Leave a Reply

