Giving Green a Try

2 Aug

As I mentioned in my post yesterday, today was the say I decided to try making a green smoothie. The “green” was some organic baby spinach. To be honest, I was very skeptical of the idea. Spinach? In a smoothie?  So I woke up this morning, got dressed to go workout, and headed into the kitchen to test it out.

Going in the smoothie was:

  • 1 frozen banana (if you don’t have a frozen banana bowl in your freezer, I highly suggest it. so easy!)

JulyFoods 030

  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries from my Nana’s garden

JulyFoods 031

  • 2 handfuls of spinachJulyFoods 032

 

  • 1 scoop of Whole Foods brand chocolate protein powder (because you need chocolate when trying anything new 🙂 )

JulyFoods 035

I added some water, and then blended it all together (along with some doubt and a touch of anxiousness).

JulyFoods 036The verdict? Well… it was GOOD! Okay, so my smoothie wasn’t really green,  but there was green IN the smoothie, and that’s what counts, right? ? Next time, I’ll add vanilla protein powder instead to retain some of the color.

Overall, a pretty good experience for my first try!

One Response to “Giving Green a Try”

  1. Jason August 6, 2011 at 3:15 am #

    Glad to see you trying something new. I’m not sure I’d have the stomach to try a green smoothie…

Leave a Reply

